top of page
Search
  • Kyle Croft

My Story: The journey from an obese person to aspiring Nutrition Coach.

Hello, my name is Kyle Croft, and I am a rookie Nutrition Coach, cutting my teeth with the Nutrition Coaching Institute or NCI. I’m not sure if being a rookie Nutrition Coach is a legitimate title or not but let’s go with it.

But first let me tell you a little bit about myself. All my life I had been an obese person, I struggled with body image issues and always hated the way that I looked and how I perceived that people saw me, I’m not sure that this is how people really saw me but when you have a negative mindset when it comes to the way you feel and how you look, your perception becomes reality, at least in your mind.

So, like many of you out there I have tried and failed many attempts at trying to get into better shape and improve my life. I have tried almost every diet plan out there, Low carb, tried it. OMAD, tried it. Intermittent Fasting tried it and honestly it was the only thing that I had found any kind of long-lasting weight loss from. But the style of IF that I did was not maintainable. I was eating 2 meals a day, one at noon and the other at 8PM, then I would train at least 4 days a week, resistance training with 45-60 mins of cardio after each weights session which was full body. Boy did I lose weight, I went from 260Ibs to 222Ibs from February to November, but that when the problems started. I had yet to face any kind of adversity where I couldn’t follow my eating plan of 12-8PM window. So, I had a meal outside of my regular plan and that’s when things got real bad.

I fell of the wagon and began to eat at all hours of the day and night, because I had not trained myself healthy eating habits and was still eating a lot of processed foods and junk, literally I ate a entire bag of Reese’s mini cups while I was still “on the wagon” which came in around 2000 calories but still lost weight that day because of the crazy training I did that night. My heart rate monitor would often say that I burned 1200 calories in a workout (not sure how accurate but still) and my My Fitness Pal app would say that the number of calories burned surpassed my intake of calories back like 1000 calories which put me in a dangerous deficit, especially when it comes to metabolic adaptation. Anyhow back to the story.

I was caught in this binge eating loop that I couldn’t get out of, mainly because my body didn’t want to. It was so starved of calories that it was sending signals for me to eat like I had never eaten before. I probably had some kind of eating dysmorphia or something, all I know is that I had created a very bad relationship with food, and it was out of control.

Fast forward three whole years…. Yeah that’s how long I let myself go, I was at my heaviest weight 286Ibs, and I was back to the way that I was at the beginning of this story, hating the way I looked and hating the way that I thought people thought of me, and that’s when I knew I wanted to make a change, but I couldn’t do things the way I did them in the past, cause clearly those things didn’t work and I knew that some kind of fad diet would create the same results.

That’s when browsing through YouTube I stumbled upon the Podcast/YouTube channel that changed my life Mind Pump. The way that the 3 host of this show, Sal, Adam and Justin, talked about fitness really lit something in me that I hadn’t had in a long time. It was great information but more importantly it was the information that I personally needed to hear. The importance of resistance training and the importance of eating enough food and the importance of both to achieve lifelong goals. On top of all of that the show is fun and entertaining while still delivering information that is valuable for everyone.

So here I am now, after enrolling in some classes from NCI and getting myself into the greatest shape of my life, even though the scale isn’t as low as it was in 2017 the way I look is far better even at 15-20 Ibs heavier. And now I am ready to make an impact in someone else’s life with nutrition and healthy living the same way that it has made an impact in mine. Getting into the shape I’m in now, even though I still have a little ways to go yet has been the greatest gift I could have given to myself and the best decision that I have ever made in my entire life and its something I want to give to other people.

If your still here thanks for reading, it means a lot to me that you have taken the time to read my story about my journey of who I am and how I got to the place that I am today, and the challenge that awaits me in this world of Nutrition Coaching. But like I said at the beginning I am a rookie Nutrition Coach, and with that I am looking to get out into the Nutrition space and make an impact in others lives and work with them to get them to the results that they desire.

But I’m going to be straight with you, I’m nervous as hell that being a newbie coach that I am going to struggle to find my footing in this world of Nutrition Coaching, it’s a big place out there and there’s more than enough people convincing people that they can get them abs in 8 days, where I can’t do that or at least not in a way that is sustainable in the long run which is what really matters, because as Simon Miller says the only way to get abs that quick is if I draw them on with a marker (unless your super lean already, but then you don’t need that guys help anyway). But I will tell you this, If you’ve made it this far, and are willing to go a little farther, send me an email, I will leave it at the bottom and we can chat, and if you want we can jump on the phone or text and we can shoot the breeze and talk about where you are in your nutrition journey and what your goals are and how we can work together to achieve these goals I would be very happy to do that.

My email is kylecroftnutritioncoaching@gmail.com if you want to send me an email, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks Again,

Kyle Croft

Rookie Nutrition Coach, NCI

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page